Umm Ruweim

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Umm Ruweim 1

The complex designated Umm Ruweim 1 consists of two concentric sets of rooms forming rectangles which surround a central structure. The entire complex has four L-shaped entrances; three of them were subsequently blocked which left only the main entrance in the east functional. The building is constructed of dry stone walls. The ruin includes stairways at the corners of the outermost series of rooms, and three stairways or ramps can be discerned in the courtyard of the inner series.  There is also a ramp in the central structure.

Today the courtyards are empty, but geophysical investigation established the existence of a series of regularly spaced anomalies which, at present, we interpret as pits.  One of them is surrounded by a ring wall; possibly the “pit” was once intended to contain some kind of vegetation.

The orientation of the rectangular structure in the center of the complex deviates markedly from that of both concentric series of rooms. In the courtyard of the central structure is a cube-like stone platform – an altar, the base for a throne, or something entirely different.

Both series of rooms are comprised of narrow chambers, ca. 2.2 m. in width, but the units differ considerably in depth. One room in the western part is 30 m. deep! These rooms were altered during the time they were in use; partitions were erected and doorways blocked. In the inner series all rooms, except for those to the west, have been filled in to create a raised terrace or an elevated passageway.

Everywhere there are small openings in the walls which we interpret as windows for ventilation and illumination. In the filled, inner series of rooms, larger stones block the windows. Furthermore, the walls are covered with plaster which has been renewed or improved with the addition of a second layer.

C 14 analysis of charcoal recovered from a sounding yielded a chronological window of AD 240 – 330 – i.e., late Meroitic to early post-Meroitic times. The pottery found confirms this dating.

Umm Ruweim 2

The precinct of Umm Ruweim 2 lies about 400 m. east of the complex Umm Ruweim 1. Nowadays the structure gives the impression of a dam-like stone enclosure with an area of ca. 67 x 67 m. The courtyard has centered entrances in both the east and west. Geophysical investigation could discern a structure made of mud brick (?) inside, similar to those of Umm Ruweim 1 and Quweib.

There is a cemetery with 45 “box graves” which seem to have been constructed from stone blocks of the south perimeter wall near which they are located. Even though the precise dating of this cemetery is not known, its presence suggests that the precinct was presumably erected before Medieval times and no longer in use by the Christian era.

Umm Ruweim 3

Ca. 400 m. south of Umm Ruweim 1 lies a small mound of ruins with visible, isolated remains of walls which are reminiscent of constructions of El Tuweina. Neither the dating nor the function of the small structure to which they belong is known at present.

Umm Ruweim

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Umm Ruweim 1

Die komplexe Struktur in Umm Ruweim, als Umm Ruweim 1 bezeichnet, besteht aus zwei rechteckigen Raumkränzen und einem Zentralbau. Der gesamte Komplex hat vier L-förmige Eingänge, von denen aber drei nachträglich blockiert wurden. Nur der Haupteingang im Osten war weiterhin funktionstüchtig. Der Bau ist aus Trockensteinmauerwerk errichtet.

In der Ruine sind an den Ecken des äußeren Raumkranzes Treppen, aber auch im Hof des inneren Raumkranzes sind drei Treppen bzw. Rampen nachweisbar. Auch im Zentralbau ist eine Rampe erhalten.

Heute sind die Höfe leer, jedoch konnte durch geophysikalische Untersuchungen eine Reihe von regelmäßig angelegten Anomalien festgestellt werden, die wir derzeit als Gruben interpretieren. Eine dieser Gruben ist mit einem Mauerring umgeben, möglicherweise handelt es sich um eine Pflanzgrube.

In der Mitte des Komplexes ist ein quadratischer Bau sichtbar, dessen Orientierung deutlich von der der beiden Raumkränze abweicht. Im Hof des Zentralbaus ist eine würfelartige Plattform aus Stein. Möglicherweise handelt es sich um einen Altar oder eine Thronbasis – oder etwas völlig anderes.

Beide Raumkränze bestehen aus schmalen, ca. 2,2 m breiten Räumen, die aber stark in ihrer Länge differieren. Ein Raum im westlichen Bereich ist sogar 30 m lang! Während der Nutzungsphase wurden diese Räume verändert: so wurden Trennwände eingefügt oder Zugänge blockiert. Im inneren Raumkranz sind alle Räume außer denen im Westen verfüllt worden, um eine erhöhte Terrasse oder einen erhöhten Gang zu bilden.

Überall in den Wänden sind kleine Auslassungen, die wir als Fenster für Belüftung und Lichteinfall interpretieren. Im verfüllten Raumkranz sind diese Fenster mit größeren Steinen blockiert worden. Darüber hinaus sind die Wände mit Verputz versehen, der durch eine zweite Lage erneuert oder ausgebessert wurde.

In der Sondage konnte Holzkohle geborgen werden; die C14-Bestimmung gibt uns ein Zeitfenster zwischen 240 und 330 n.Chr. – also spätmeroitische bis frühe postmeroitische Zeit. Auch die gefundene Keramik bestätigt diese Datierung.

Umm Ruweim 2

Die Einfriedung von Umm Ruweim 2 liegt etwa 400 m östlich des Komplexes von Umm Ruweim 1. Heute präsentiert sich das Bauwerk als dammähnliche Steinumwallung einer quadratischen, ca. 67 x 67 m großen Fläche. Der Hof hat im Osten und Westen jeweils mittig einen Eingang. Durch geophysikalische Untersuchungen konnte eine Innenbebauung aus Lehmziegel (?) festgestellt werden, die Raumkränze ähnlich wie bei Umm Ruweim 1 und Quweib darstellen.

Nahe der Südmauer des Gevierts liegt ein Friedhof mit 45 „box graves“, die augenscheinlich aus Steinblöcken der Südmauer errichtet worden. Bisher ist keine Datierung bekannt, durch diesen Befund ist jedoch anzunehmen, dass das Gebäude vor dem Mittelalter errichtet wurde und in christlicher Zeit nicht mehr in Nutzung war.

Umm Ruweim 3

Etwa 400 m südlich von Umm Ruweim 1 liegt ein kleiner Ruinenhügel, bei dem einzelne Mauerreste sichtbar sind. Das Mauerwerk erinnert an die Bauweise von El Tuweina. Datierung und Funktion dieses kleinen Gebäudes sind bisher unbekannt.